Creativity and pedagogy methods are some of the skills certified art teachers must possess. These skills are developed through formal education and preparation and are evaluated with assessments to qualify a candidate for art teaching certification in Louisiana. The Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) administers the certification process in the state. This article provides information on requirements to obtain art teaching certification in Louisiana and also provides links to help candidates prepare for the different assessments that must be completed successfully.
Art Teacher Certification Requirements in Louisiana
|Average Salaries for Teachers in Louisiana (2018)||$48,740 (Elementary), $49,960 (Middle School), $51,810 (High School)*|
|Required Degree||Bachelor's Degree|
|Degree Field||Art Education|
|Testing Requirements||Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching, Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators (5751), Praxis Art: Content Knowledge (5134)|
Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Step 1: Complete Education Requirements
Having the right education will lead a candidate directly to certification if completed successfully. To qualify for the traditional pathway to certification the candidate must hold the minimum requirement of a bachelor's degree in art education from an LDOE-approved educator preparation program. The art education program may have a specific concentration in a medium of focus like sculpture, painting, print making, jewelry making or photography, so long as the degree includes the educator preparation components required by the state.
The LDOE-approved educator program must include core curriculum, courses that concentrate on art, pedagogy courses and a teaching internship, also known as a residency. Aside from the residency, the program requires the candidate to complete 180 hours of in-classroom teaching. The purpose of this is to train the candidate to teach in the classroom while upholding the standards of the LDOE and implementing the curriculum recommended by the Louisiana Department of Arts. The candidate must fulfill all coursework and residency requirements with positive evaluations and a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.5 in order to qualify for an art teaching certification in Louisiana.
Step 2: Complete Testing Requirements
The second step in securing an art teacher certification is to pass the required assessments that evaluate the candidate's knowledge in core content, subject area expertise and pedagogy practices. Core content is evaluated with the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators (5751) and must be passed with the minimum scores of 156 in reading, 162 in writing, and 150 in mathematics. The candidate can qualify for exemption from the core content exam if they have scored 220 or higher on the ACT or 1100 or higher on the SAT.
The second assessment that must be completed successfully is the Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching exam. This exam evaluates the candidate's knowledge in pedagogy practices. The exam comes in three versions that are tailored to the grade level that the candidate will apply for.
The third assessment evaluates the candidate's expertise in the subject area they are seeking certification in. Aspiring art teachers must pass the Praxis Art: Content Knowledge (5134) exam with a score of 159 or higher. The 5134 exam will satisfy the requirement to teach all grade levels.
Step 3: Application for Certification Requirements
The third step begins when the LDOE has received a recommendation from the candidate's LDOE-approved educator preparation program and test scores from the Educator Testing System (ETS), which is the administrator of the Praxis exams. Candidates that complete the exam outside of the state of Louisiana will need to request the scores be forwarded to the LDOE. If the candidate did take the tests within the state, the ETS will automatically forward the scores to the LDOE.
Once the LDOE has received all needed qualifying information the candidate is required to create a Teach Louisiana account to expedite the application process. The application fee will also be paid through this forum. Once this is completed the candidate may check the status of certification by logging in to their account. If the candidate has satisfied all requirements needed for certification, the LDOE will issue a Level 1 teaching certification that is valid for three years.
Art Teacher Certification Resources
The links provided include resources to help prepare the candidate to take the exams required to become an art teacher in Louisiana.