Teachers in Nevada can be certified to teach grades K-12 in a variety of different subjects. As recently as the 2016-2017 school year, Nevada reported a shortage of teachers for many essential subjects, so there are lots of opportunities for those interested in pursuing a career in education.
Nevada Teacher Salary Statistics and Educational Requirements
|Average Salary for Teachers in Nevada (2016)*||$54,810 (Elementary), $56,340 (Middle), $55,740 (High School)|
|Testing Requirements||Praxis Core, Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching, Praxis Content Area subject tests|
Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Step 1: Earn a Bachelor's Degree
The first step for prospective teachers in Nevada is to complete a bachelor's degree in education. This program must be an accredited, approved course of study, and a detailed list of all in-state schools is available on the Department of Education's website. Every course of study will be slightly different because there are multiple options to choose from. A student could pursue a degree in elementary education, secondary education, or even math education, so it is important to consider all options before choosing a program. Classes will vary, but every program will likely include classes like child development, classroom management, cultural diversity, and methods for teaching English language learners, in addition to general education classes. Students will also participate in student teaching before graduation in order to gain relevant experience in a classroom setting.
Step 2: Complete All Required Testing
Prospective teachers in Nevada must take several Praxis exams before moving forward to the certification process. The first required test sequence is the Praxis Core exam, which is made up of reading, writing, and math subtests. Students must score at least a 156 on the reading subtest, a 162 on the writing subtest, and a 150 on the math subtest. Students will be provided with an on-screen calculator for the math portion. The second Praxis exam required by the state is the Principles of Learning and Teaching test. There are two options for future educators to choose from: the K-6 exam or the 7-12 exam. The K-6 exam requires at least a score of 160, while the 7-12 exam requires at least a score of 157. Keep in mind that any teacher wishing to become certified in a specific subject area (physical education, music, etc.) must also take the appropriate Praxis Content Area subject test. The cost of each test ranges from $50-160, and Nevada also collects a $5 surcharge on all subject exams.
Step 3: Submit Certification Application
The final step for future Nevada educators is to complete the certification application process. First, an Application for Educator Licensure form must be filled out - this can be found on the Department of Education's website. Applicants will need to be fingerprinted and submit the results, as well. Next, applicants need to submit original transcripts (copies are not accepted) and the results of all applicable Praxis testing. Finally, applicants must include the application fee. The fee is currently $161, but is expected to rise to $180 once a new online application system called OPAL is up and running. Once all of these materials are submitted, applicants are ready to receive a standard license, which is valid for five years in the state of Nevada.
Certification Resources for Future Nevada Teachers
There are several resources for anyone curious about teaching in Nevada. Check out detailed study guides for Praxis exams and learn more about the structure of the tests with the guides below.