Oklahoma needs dedicated teachers in classrooms throughout the state. By becoming a teacher, you can pass on your love of learning to your students and help them improve their opportunities for future success. Read more about how you can become a certified teacher in Oklahoma.
Teacher Requirements for Oklahoma
|Average Salary for Teachers in Oklahoma (2017)*||$40,530 (Elementary School); $42,040 (Middle School); $41,880 (High School)|
|Required Degree||Bachelor's degree|
|Degree Field||Any major, but must include an approved teacher education program|
|Testing Requirements||OGET; OPTE; OSAT|
Step 1: Earn Your Degree
All teachers in Oklahoma must hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university. Those interested in teaching will want to select a school with a teacher education program from an institution approved by the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability (OEQA). These programs include courses in education and field experience. Student teachers will have the opportunity to observe school classrooms in a variety of settings and gain real-word experience teaching in the classroom.
Step 2: Have Fingerprints Submitted
Oklahoma law requires anyone wishing to become certified as a teacher to have a clean state and federal record on file with the Board of Education. This file should include a set of fingerprints. Teachers should contact the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation to have a criminal record search performed and to submit fingerprints.
Step 3: Pass All Required Tests
All teachers must pass three tests offered by the OEQA before applying for certification; contact OEQA to register for these tests. The Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET) covers general education and critical thinking knowledge, while the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Exam (OPTE) tests a teacher's professional skills and knowledge. You must also take the Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT) in the subject area you wish to teach, such as elementary education, mathematics, dance, chemistry, or French.
Step 4: Complete Application
Apply for certification using the Oklahoma School Standard Teaching Certificate Application form provided by the Oklahoma State Department of Education. A fee is required to process this form. The Standard Teaching Certificate is a renewable certificate that is good for five years.
Certification Resource for Oklahoma Teachers
This link will help you study for your Oklahoma General Education Test: