Mississippi Schools with Air Force ROTC

Mississippi is home to four unique Air Force ROTC programs and offers several additional participating schools. Explore some of the schools offering the program, as well as details about the Air Force ROTC program.

Students in Mississippi have many different school options if they wish to participate in Air Force ROTC (AFROTC). Private and public schools are available and vary in tuition rates. Learn about some of the available school options in the Magnolia State here.

School Comparison

School Name Institution Type Location Tuition (In-state, 2016-2017)* Tuition Assistance/ Military Benefits
Mississippi State University 4-year, public Mississippi State, MS $7,780 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships, Arnold Air Society, Silver Wings, Drill Team, Honor Guard
University of Southern Mississippi 4-year, public Hattiesburg, MS $7,659 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships, Arnold Air Society, Honor/Color Guard, Recruiting Team
University of Mississippi 4-year, public University, MS $7,744 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships
Jackson State University 4-year, public Jackson, MS $7,261 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships
William Carey University 4-year, private not-for-profit Hattiesburg, MS $11,700 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships

Source: *National Center for Education Statistics

Overview of Mississippi Colleges with Air Force ROTC Programs

Mississippi offers several unique AFROTC programs, as well as several additional schools that allow participation in programs through cross-town agreements. Compare and contrast some of the schools and their programs below.

Mississippi State University

Mississippi State University houses AFROTC Detachment 425 that also serves students at East Mississippi Community College and Mississippi University for Women. The school offers a 3- and 4-year program. Students in the program participate in AFROTC courses, Leadership Lab and physical training each week. Cadets may also choose to participate in AFROTC organizations, like Silver Wings, Arnold Air Society, Blue Knights Drill Team or Honor Guard. Students can apply for national AFROTC scholarships, but may have more success obtaining a scholarship if they are in a technical major or majoring in a foreign language.

University of Southern Mississippi

The University of Southern Mississippi offers participation in AFROTC Detachment 432 to its students and students at two cross-town institutions. The traditional 4-year program consists of the General Military Course (GMC) the first two years, followed by two years of the Professional Officer Course (POC). The POC is a selective course and cadets chosen to participate must first complete a 4-week field-training the summer before entering the POC. Students may also choose to participate in Honor/Color Guard, Arnold Air Society or Recruiting Team. Cadets can compete for AFROTC scholarships that help pay for tuition, fees, books and other expenses.

University of Mississippi

The University of Mississippi is home to AFROTC Detachment 430. Cadets in the program complete weekly physical training, Leadership Lab and AFROTC courses. Coursework covers topics in the U.S. Air Force, the evolution of air and space power, leadership and defense studies. In order to participate in the program, students must be 14 years or older, be enrolled full time, and meet academic, physical and medical requirements. Students can apply for AFROTC scholarships as high school seniors or in-college students.

Jackson State University

Since 2005, Jackson State University has offered participation in AFROTC Detachment 006. The first two years of the program have no obligation to the U.S. Air Force. Students wishing to participate must be full-time undergraduate or graduate students with a 2.0 GPA. High school seniors can apply for 4-year scholarships, while in-college students can compete for scholarships if they meet various performance requirements, such as GPA and fitness standards.

William Carey University

William Carey University is one of the cross-town schools that participate in AFROTC Detachment 432 through an agreement with the University of Southern Mississippi. Students wishing to participate must be full-time students at William Carey University. They complete their academic programs at William Carey University, but complete all of their AFROTC requirements on campus at the University of Southern Mississippi. Students are eligible to apply for national AFROTC scholarships that typically cover tuition and most fees and offer a monthly stipend and book allowance.

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?