The Nebraska Department of Education requires that their educators renew their teaching certification every five years in order to stay in their profession. This means that at any given time, there could be hundreds or thousands of teachers that may have the option to renew their license. Below is information on how a Nebraska educator can accomplish this.
Nebraska Educator Renewal Requirements
|Average Salary for Education Professionals in Nebraska||$57,640 (Kindergarten), $56,070 (Elementary), $59,370 (Middle School), $55,870 (High School)|
|Testing Requirements||Tests not required for renewal|
*Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
How to Renew Your Nebraska Certification
In order for an educator located in Nebraska to renew their teaching certificate, they must submit an online application via the Nebraska Student and Staff Record System (NSSRS). They also have the option of printing and completing the application form and mailing in the application. Both forms of application require a non-refundable application fee that can be paid online, as well as through check or money order. The renewal also requires that the educator have recent teaching experience or complete six graduate semester hours in education or a specific content area. These hours must be completed in the immediate preceding five years while the educator holds or is qualified for a teaching certificate. This information is automatically verified on the NSSRS system, so no extra forms need to be completed or submitted.
Find schools that offer these popular programs
- Teacher Education, Multiple Levels
- Teaching, Adults
- Teaching, Elementary
- Teaching, High School
- Teaching, Junior High
- Teaching, Kindergarten and Preschool
- Teaching, Waldorf and Steiner Education
- Teaching, Young Children
More Information on Recent Experience or Credit Hours
Recent teaching experience must be verified with the educator submitting the Verification of Experience Form. This requires that the educator have taught one year at least half-time within the five preceding years to the renewal. It should also be noted that if the educators certificate is more than five years expired, the educator must take fifteen specific graduate hours. The hours must include courses in instructional techniques, current issues in education, and coursework specific to the educator's content area. Current issues in education can be issues in special education, gifted education, school law, etc. These courses must be recommended by a certification officer at the approved education institution that the educator is attending. Educators are also required to complete one hundred hours in the classroom, face to face with students. Half of the classroom time must be instructional and under the supervision of a cooperating teacher.
Renewal Resources for Nebraska Educators
Within this section, you will find resources that can be used to assist in pursuing education-related professional learning. The links below lead to courses that confer the types of credits educators use when renewing a teaching license.