New Jersey Substitute Teacher Certification

Substitute teachers are often used when a teacher has an emergency or is sick. Should you want to help out schools during these times, you must have the proper certification to do so. Continue reading to learn more.

View Popular Schools

There are roughly 22,510 substitute teachers in the state of New Jersey. If you would like to join this rank of teachers who help out teachers and schools during difficult times, read on to find out how to become certified as a substitute teacher.

Requirements for New Jersey Substitute Teachers

Average Salary for Substitute Teachers in New Jersey (2017)* $30,420
Required Degree Associate's Degree
Required Field Any
Testing Requirements None

Source: *Bureau of Labor Statistics

Step 1: Complete Education

The first step to becoming a substitute teacher in New Jersey is to complete your education. The New Jersey Department of Education requires those applying to become a substitute teacher have completed at least 60 credit hours of college-level work. This is typically the average amount of credits for an associate's degree program. While any degree program really is fine to become a substitute, your substituting opportunities will grow wider with an education-focused program. Or consider a liberal arts education to get a good background on several subjects.

Step 2: Fill out Application

You will next need to fill out the substitute teacher application. This application will allow you to work for 20 days in any one classroom for an entire school year. This can be extended to 40 days for any one teacher provided that you go through the proper channels to extend this time frame.

The application is pretty basic and asks questions on whether or not you are a citizen of the U.S., ever been convicted or a crime, or ever held a teaching certificate in another state. There are some other documents that must be submitted with this, such as the Oath of Allegiance, which basically asks you to give your allegiance to the U.S. and state of New Jersey and verify accuracy of all statements in your application. This is only for U.S. citizens, and failure to provide it with your application will result in not getting your certificate.

Step 3: Get Fingerprinted

Along with an $11 fee for administrative fees, you'll also need to pay $67.45 to be fingerprinted. These fingerprints will then be run to check for any criminal activity in your background. This is essential to become a substitute teacher, as well as a full-time teacher if you should decide to continue on with certification. The verification of a clear background check must also be included with your application and Oath of Allegiance when you apply at the County Office of Education.

Certification Resources for New Jersey Substitute Teachers

Though there are no required tests to become a substitute teacher, you may find yourself in a position to continue your education or certification to become a traditional teacher. In order to do that, you will need to prove at least basic knowledge, as well as content knowledge with Praxis exams.

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?