North Dakota Schools with Air Force ROTC

North Dakota is home to one Air Force ROTC detachment that serves several institutions in the state and surrounding area. Learn about a few of the available schools that offer participation in Air Force ROTC.

There are only a couple of institutions in North Dakota that offer participation in the Air Force ROTC (AFROTC) program. These public schools also allow AFROTC participation for students from several surrounding schools and vary slightly in tuition rates. Compare a few of the available schools in North Dakota and the nearby area below.

School Comparison

School Name Institution Type Location Tuition (In-state, 2016-2017)* Tuition Assistance/ Military Benefits
University of North Dakota 4-year, public Grand Forks, ND $8,136 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships
North Dakota State University 4-year, public Fargo, ND $8,327 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships
Park University 4-year, private not-for-profit Parkville, MO $12,130 AFROTC scholarships

Source: *National Center for Education Statistics

Overview of North Dakota Colleges with Air Force ROTC Programs

North Dakota only offers one AFROTC detachment that serves two major universities in the state, as well as some additional schools in the surrounding areas. Learn about some of the program requirements and scholarship opportunities for participating students.

University of North Dakota

The University of North Dakota offers AFROTC Detachment 610, which is actually divided into two wings. One wing, Eagle Wing I, is at North Dakota State University, while the other wing, Eagle Wing II, is at the University of North Dakota. Both wings serve their respective student body, as well as students from several additional schools in the nearby areas. Cadets in the program must participate in physical training, Leadership Lab and Aerospace coursework. Cadets are also assigned specific jobs and duties within the Cadet Wing, typically helping with daily training. Students can compete for AFROTC scholarships as high school students and in-college students to help pay for tuition and fees.

North Dakota State University

As mentioned, North Dakota State University is home to Eagle Wing I of AFROTC Detachment 610. Students wishing to participate must be full-time students at North Dakota State University or one of the participating crosstown schools. Successful completion of the program results in a minor in aerospace studies and commission into the U.S. Air Force. The 4-year program consists of the General Military Course for the first two years, followed by the Professional Officer Course the next two years. Both sections include physical training, Leadership Lab and AFROTC courses with topics in the Air Force, leadership management, air and space power and preparation for active duty. Students can apply for 3- to 4-year scholarships to help cover expenses, and can also choose to participate in Professional Development Training (PDT) programs during the summers.

Park University

Although Park University's main campus is in Missouri, the school also has a campus center at Minot Air Force Base in Minot, ND. Park University offers participation in AFROTC through North Dakota State University. Cadets in the program pursue their bachelor's degree at Park University while completing all of their AFROTC requirements, including physical training, coursework and Leadership Lab, at North Dakota State. Students interested in participating must meet all of the Air Force's weight, fitness and medical standards. The General Military Course section of the program typically requires 3.5 hours of commitment a week, while the Professional Officer Course requires about 5.5 hours per week. Students are eligible to apply for scholarships that cover tuition, books and most fees and offer a monthly allowance.

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?