The Ohio Department of Education splits the requirements for renewal between teachers who are currently employed in an Ohio school and those whose licenses have lapsed. Ohio educators must renew their certificate every five years by fulfilling professional development hours. Those with lapsed licenses may also renew their licenses, but will have additional requirements.
Ohio Educator Renewal Requirements
|Average Salary for Education Professionals in Ohio||$56,400 (Kindergarten), $59,950 (Elementary), $59,850 (Middle School), $60,810 (High School)|
|Testing Requirements||Not required for renewal|
*Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Professional Development Options
Current educators who wish to renew their license are required to design an Individual Professional Development Plan based on the needs of the educator, the needs of the students, the school, and the district. This plan will be subject to approval by the Local Professional Development Committee. The Individual Professional Development Plan can also include activities related to teaching or the educator's area of licensure, but must be approved by the committee. Once approved, the educator must complete six semester hours related to teaching and their area of licensure or 18 continuing education units (CEUs).
Educators who wish to renew their certification, but are no longer employed in an Ohio institution, fall into three categories: currently expiring certifications, certifications that have lapsed up to five years, and certifications that have lapsed for more than five years. Those educators with currently expiring licenses must complete six semester hours prior to September 1st of the expiration year, otherwise the requirement increases to nine semester hours. For those educators whose license has lapsed up to five years, they must complete nine semester hours. Finally, the educators who have lapsed for more than five years must complete twelve semester hours.
How to Renew Your Ohio Certification
After completing the necessary hours or credits, an educator can then begin the renewal process by logging onto the Security Application for Enterprise (SAFE) online portal. There the educator can update personal information (address, email, and phone number) and upload any documents that may be required, specifically transcripts regarding professional development.
Once updates are made, educators will apply for a new credential through the SAFE online portal. Existing educators will denote that they are already an Ohio educator and that they intend to renew their credential. From there, the educator will follow all instructions and submit their application.
Before the application can be fully submitted, the educator must pay the fee required by the Ohio Department of Education. A five-year professional teaching license comes with a fee of $200 and can be paid on the SAFE online portal. This can be paid via e-check, debit, or credit card.
Renewal Resources for Ohio Educators
Below are potential resources that can be used by Ohio educators interested in pursuing continuing education credits. The links below to courses that can earn credits for the renewal of a teaching license.