According to the U.S. Department of Education, Oklahoma-based private school teachers must be certified to teach. We will now take a look at the requirements needed to gain licensure as a teacher in Oklahoma state.
Requirements for Private School Teachers in Oklahoma
|Average Salary for Teachers Oklahoma (2019)*|| $30,300 (Preschool)
$45,970 (Elementary School)
*$46,360 (Middle School)
*$47,320 (High School)
|Required Degree||Bachelor's Degree|
|Testing Requirements|| *OGET (074)
*OPTE PK-8 or 6-12 (075 or 076)
*OSAT Subject-area exam
Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Step 1: Complete Education
Since private school teachers must be certified the same as public school and charter school teachers, we will look at the traditional route for initial certification in the state of Oklahoma. The first step is to complete a bachelor's degree program with an education focus. This means that you can complete an art education, history education, science education, elementary education, or other educational program. This will help you because it will likely include the coursework needed to meet your teacher education program. A teacher education program requires a student-teaching internship in a classroom for experience.
Step 2: Complete Required Exams
After your education is complete, you'll need to take all certification exams set up by the Certification Examinations for Oklahoma Educators (CEOE). The first exam is called the OGET, or Oklahoma General Education Test. You will need to score a passing grade of 240 or higher on this exam to prove your basic understanding in the subjects of math, reading, and writing. The exam is given in a 2-hour block, and you must complete all 100 multiple-choice questions and the essay.
Next up is the OPTE (Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination) exam. There are two of these exams for grades PK-8 and grades 6-12. Which exam you take will depend on the grade levels you wish to teach. However, if you are going to seek a PK-12 endorsement in an area such as physical education or music, you'll need to take both exams. Both are made up of three written assignments and 75 multiple-choice questions. Again, you must score 240 or higher to pass.
Finally, you'll take the Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT) which covers the subject area in which you want to be endorsed. You can select more than one for credentialing, if you'd like, but you must begin with the one in which you plan to teach. Each of these exams is set up differently and has its own scoring requirements.
Step 3: Obtain Background Checks
The final step for certification is to be fingerprinted and undergo a background check. There are three options for locations in which you can be fingerprinted: the Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE), an OSDE satellite location, or a law enforcement agency office. These fingerprints will be completed digitally and then sent off to the FBI for clearance. Along with the FBI, the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) will also run a state check. The cost of these two reports is $53.94.
Certification Resources for Private Teachers in Oklahoma
Studying for the OCOE exams can be a bit daunting at times. Let us provide you with some help via our study guide for the OGET. Be sure to check out other subject-area study guides on the site.