Air Force ROTC Colleges in Ohio

Ohio is home to many schools that offer Air Force ROTC programs to students interested in becoming officers of the U.S. Air Force. Learn about some of the schools that offer these programs, as well as program details.

Students wishing to participate in the Air Force ROTC (AFROTC) program at the post-secondary level in Ohio have many schools to choose from across the state. Here we discuss some of the AFROTC programs that are available and may be host to multiple institutions that participate in the program. Compare the different schools' locations, tuition rates and more, below.

School Comparison

School Name Institution Type Location Tuition (In-state, 2016-2017)* Tuition Assistance/ Military Benefits
Bowling Green State University 4-year, public Bowling Green, OH $11,057 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships
Ohio State University 4-year, public Columbus, OH $10,037 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships
Ohio University 4-year, public Athens, OH $11,744 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships
Kent State University at Kent 4-year, public Kent, OH $10,012 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships
Miami University- Oxford 4-year, public Oxford, OH $14,736 Credit for military training, AFROTC scholarships

Source: *National Center for Education Statistics

Air Force ROTC Colleges in Ohio

The following schools in Ohio offer AFROTC programs to interested students to prepare them for work as an officer in the U.S. Air Force upon graduation. These programs consist of similar program requirements, but each school has a unique AFROTC history, offers different military benefits and training opportunities. Joining anyone one these AFROTC programs does not confer military commitment until cadets reach their junior year or accept a scholarship. Compare five Ohio schools and AFROTC program options, below.

Bowling Green State University

Bowling Green State University has been home to AFROTC Detachment 620 for over 60 years. The program requires students to attend AFROTC classes about 6 to 8 hours a week (depending on your year in the program) and consist of academic classes, Leadership Laboratory and physical training. Selected cadets participate in a month-long field training course the summer between their sophomore and junior years. Students are eligible to apply for national AFROTC scholarships.

Ohio State University

The Ohio State University is home to AFROTC Detachment 645 that has been supporting cadets since 1948. The school offers the standard 4-year program that consists of the General Military Course the first two years of the program followed by two years of the Professional Officer Course. Students can also choose to participate in a two-and-a-half year or 3-year program that accelerates the coursework during the General Military Course. Students can apply for the High School Scholarship Program after their junior year in high-school or apply to the In-College scholarship after your freshman or sophomore years. Students must also complete a 4-week training session after being selected to the Professional Officer Course, which initiates the second half of your 4-year study program.

Ohio University

Ohio University offers students the AFROTC Detachment 650, also known as the 'Bobcat Wing'. The program offers the standard 4-year program, but can also be condensed to 3 years or expanded to 5 years if needed (typically for those in more technical majors). The program is part of the school's University College and focuses on academic skills, hands-on experience and mentorship throughout the program. High school students can compete for 3-year and 4-year AFROTC scholarships, and current cadets can also apply for in-college scholarships.

Kent State University

Kent State University is the home base for AFROTC Detachment 630 that serves an additional 7 institutions across Northeast Ohio. Students are free to participate in AFROTC their freshmen and sophomore years without any commitment to the Air Force. New cadets complete an orientation program and then participate in weekly aerospace science courses and Leadership Lab. Each participating school in Detachment 630 offers AFROTC scholarships to help cover tuition, books and stipends.

Miami University

Miami University offers AFROTC Detachment 640 to interested students and has been producing officers for more than 70 years. Students in the program are eligible for additional benefits, such as medical and dental benefits for themselves and dependents, world-wide travel opportunities, hands-on leadership training and more. The school offers 4-, 3-, 2-, and 1-year programs that include free uniforms and free Aerospace Studies textbooks. Students can compete for national AFROTC scholarships, as well as six different school-specific scholarships for the detachment.

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?