Vermont has several routes to become a certified teacher. Other than New York, Wisconsin, South Dakota, and New Mexico, Vermont has reciprocity agreements with all other states. To find out more about becoming a licensed teacher in Vermont, read on.
Requirements for Teachers in Vermont
|Average Salary for Teachers in Vermont (2017)*|| $33,620 (Preschool)
$61,090 (Elementary School)
$58,920 (Middle School)
$61,590 (High School)
|Required Degree||Bachelor's Degree|
|Testing Requirements|| Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators exams
Praxis Content Knowledge exam
Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Step 1: Complete Your Education
In Vermont, teachers are expected to get their bachelor's degree in the specific subject area in which they wish to teach or in a field such as elementary or middle grades education. Your bachelor's degree program must be an approved educator preparation program from the Vermont Agency of Education. This will include a student teaching internship with educational pedagogy courses. Depending on your subject, you may have other internships that will be required by the college for experience in your subject area.
Your transcripts will then be uploaded onto the Vermont Online Licensing System for Educators (VLiS). You'll also need a recommendation from your college or university for licensure on your transcripts, showing you have completed the education preparation program.
Find schools that offer these popular programs
- Teacher Education, Multiple Levels
- Teaching, Adults
- Teaching, Elementary
- Teaching, High School
- Teaching, Junior High
- Teaching, Kindergarten and Preschool
- Teaching, Waldorf and Steiner Education
- Teaching, Young Children
Step 2: Pass Required Exams
Vermont works with the Praxis system to test their future educators. The first exam that every teacher must take is the Core Academic Skills for Educators 3-part exam. This can be taken together or by subject. Each section requires its own passing score to count toward licensure, and if you fail that section, you will need to repeat only that section. This test looks at the three major subjects needed for teaching: reading, math, and writing. Each exam is set up different; however, the reading and math sections both include 56 questions and must be completed in 85 minutes or less. You'll be given more time for the writing exam since there are essays included with its 40 multiple-choice questions. To pass, you'll need to score 156 on the reading test, 162 on the writing, and 150 on the math exam.
You will then take the Praxis content knowledge exam that matches the subject which you'd like to teach. Again, each exam is set up differently and requires a different passing score.
Step 3: Background Check
As with most states, Vermont requires all teachers to be fingerprinted and have a background check run on them. When applying for your license, you'll include a $12 fingerprinting fee with the other fees. You have the choice to go to any identification center that you like but be aware that digital prints will give a quicker timeframe for the background check, and there may be additional fees depending on the center. The fingerprints will then be used to check your criminal background by the Vermont Crime Information Center (VCIC). The report will be sent automatically to the Vermont Education Agency. Please be aware that VCIC will not accept fingerprints from other states.
Vermont Teacher Certification Resources
Since there are so many options for testing for teaching certification, we've compiled some study guides to help you prepare for the Praxis exams. Remember, resources are always a good thing to have on hand.