Certified Healthcare Safety Professional Education Requirements

Apr 01, 2021

The Certified Healthcare Safety Professional (CHSP) designation was created in 1978 by the Board of Certified Healthcare Safety Management. This particular certification is offered at the master and associate levels. To qualify for this certification, either an associate or bachelor's degree in health care management or some other healthcare field is required, though physicians and other biomedical professionals can qualify for the certification.

Essential Information

The CHSP level certification is awarded after the successful completion of a comprehensive exam that covers competency in safety management, government agencies and standards, voluntary and standards organizations, healthcare hazards, infection control and prevention, fire safety, and accrediting organizations.

Certification Level Associate Master
Required Education n/a Bachelor's degree
Required Experience 2 years with associate's degree; 4 without 4 years
Renewal* Every 5 years Every 5 years
Continuing Education Requirements* 10 hours annually 10 hours annually
Job Outlook, 2019-29 5% (health and safety technicians)** 4% (health and safety specialists)**
Median Pay, 2020 $49,960 (health and safety technicians)** $76,340 (health and safety specialists)**

Sources: *International Board for Certification of Safety Managers and **United States Bureau of Labor Statistics

Education Requirements

The Certified Healthcare Safety Professional credential is awarded to many different types of professionals in the healthcare field. For example, a physician or a biomedical profession can qualify for this certification. For the purpose of this article, however, only associate and bachelor's degrees in healthcare management will be discussed. Graduates of these two degree programs with some years of experience can also earn the CHSP designation.

Associate of Science in Healthcare Management

Students enrolled in an associate degree program in healthcare management learn business and communication skills that are directly applicable to the role of a healthcare manager. Some of the topics addressed in the curriculum include medical coding, medical recordkeeping, patient relations, office management and computer skills. This degree can be completed in two years and qualifies graduates for entry-level administrative positions with clinics, hospitals and other healthcare institutions.

Bachelor of Science in Healthcare Management

Students enrolled in a bachelor's degree program in healthcare management are often required to complete core courses in business and theories of management. Other core courses address financial accounting, problem solving and organizational behavior.

Taken either concurrently or after the completion of these management courses are classes in healthcare management. Some of the topics covered in these courses include healthcare informatics, management in healthcare institutions, financial healthcare management and legal issues. A student may conclude the degree program with an internship taken during the final semester of enrollment.

Certification Requirements

As stated earlier, the Certified Healthcare Safety Professional (CHSP) credential is offered at the associate and master levels. In order to be eligible for the master level certification, which is the highest, a candidate must hold a bachelor's degree and have four years of experience.

The associate certification requires that candidates have four years of experience. However, for those candidates who have a college degree, each year spent enrolled can count as a year of experience. For example, a graduate of an associate degree program can qualify and only have to provide proof of one year of healthcare experience. A CHSP level certification is awarded after the successful completion of an exam. The certification must be renewed every five years by providing proof of at least 50 hours of continuing education courses that address safety issues in healthcare.

Medical professionals interested in becoming a CHSP can take an exam to earn certification. There is an associate and master level for this certification, each requiring a certain number of years of education and/or experience. Recertification happens every 5 years, but professionals must document ten hours of continuing education per year (50 hours total).

Next: View Schools
Created with Sketch. Link to this page

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?