Approximately 30 schools in New Jersey offer cosmetology programs, but most of these are for-profit institutions. Common not-for-profit institutions offering cosmetology training include vocational and technical schools. In addition to adult learners, interested participants may include current high school students who can enroll in cosmetology training programs while they work toward earning their high school diploma. Depending on the school, cosmetology programs can take students approximately 1-3 years to complete.
Continue reading to learn about the 4 public schools in the state that feature cosmetology training. All of these programs meet the necessary requirements for state licensing.
Monmouth County Vocational School District
Students in the Neptune area can pursue a standard cosmetology and hairstyling program for adults or a shared time cosmetology program for high school students at the Monmouth County Vocational School District. Both of these program options include the 1,000 hours of cosmetology study required by the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology, and they normally take 2 years to complete. Both programs consist of 40 credits and include 2 cosmetology courses, as well as mathematics and science courses. The cosmetology coursework here goes over such subjects as nail structure and growth, facial make-up and facials, histology of skin, physiology and anatomy, hair removal and infection control. Students are required to take comprehensive written and practical examinations during their senior year to qualify for licensure.
Morris County Vocational School District
Located in Denville, the Morris County Vocational School District has cosmetology programs for adults and high school students. The share time program, which is offered to 11th- and 12th-grade students, is intended to be completed in 2 years. Cosmetology students in the adult program typically attend school during afternoons and evenings Monday through Thursday, along with the occasional Saturday morning course. At this school, all cosmetology students are educated on skin care, hair care, barbering, nail care and hair treatments. Included in the tuition of the adult program is an online examination that helps prepare students for the licensing examination. About mid-program, students are required to begin working in the school's cosmetology clinic where they gain skills performing cosmetology services for the public.
Ocean County Vocational-Technical School
Tech prep and after high school cosmetology programs are available in Toms River at the Ocean County Vocational-Technical School. High school students can pursue the shared time option where their coursework overlaps with their high school classes. Adult students have 2 scheduling options to pick from, including a 10-month twilight program that meets 5 times a week from 2-7 p.m. and a 20-month program that meets Mondays, Tuesdays and every other Friday from 4:30 to 9:30 p.m. In each of these programs, students are educated on nail and skin services, barbering, business management and hair services. Hands-on training is also provided through in-school clinical experiences.
Union County Vocational Technical School
The cosmetology program at Union County Vocational Technical School, which is located in Scotch Plains, can be pursued by both high school students and adults. Students complete 1,000 hours of cosmetology training here. If a student is in high school, the program can be entered during the sophomore, junior or senior year and will take 3 years to complete. Students who don't hit the necessary training hours for state licensure while in high school can continue their cosmetology education in the school's adult education program. Mannequins and live models are handled by students as they study facials, manicuring, pedicuring, hair cutting, barbering and shaving, massages and make-up techniques. Students are required to purchase a kit that contains combs, rollers, scissors and other pieces of cosmetology equipment.
Cosmetologists working in New Jersey need to be licensed. To acquire a cosmetology license, individuals must graduate from high school or an equivalent program, complete a cosmetology education program with the appropriate instruction hours, pass a licensing exam and be 18 years of age or older. Licenses need to be renewed every two years.
School Comparison: At a Glance
|School Name||School Type and Setting||Cosmetology Programs Offered||Undergraduate Tuition and Fees (2018-2019)|
|Monmouth County Vocational School District||< 2-year, public; large suburb|| Cosmetology and Hairstyling Program,
Shared Time Cosmetology Program
|Morris County Vocational School District||< 2-year, public; large suburb|| Adult Cosmetology Program,
Cosmetology Share Time Program
|Ocean County Vocational-Technical School||< 2-year, public; large suburb|| After High School Cosmetology Program,
Cosmetology Tech Prep Program
|Union County Vocational Technical School||< 2-year, public; large suburb||Cosmetology Program||$5,500*|
Source: *NCES College Navigator