GED Registration Requirements and Information by State

Aug 03, 2018

State education boards are responsible for administering the General Educational Development (GED) test, and each state has different registration requirements for individuals. Requirements commonly involve age, high school education status and residency.

View Popular Schools

GED Requirements for Registration

The GED is a national standardized exam designed to result in a credential equivalent to a high school diploma. To receive a high school equivalency credential, candidates must earn a score of 145 or more on each of four subtests, testing skills and knowledge in language arts, math, social studies and science. The GED is also a pathway to college, but candidates must receive a score of 165 or higher.

Although some aspects of the test are universal, other details, such as eligibility, differ from state to state. However, all states establish their requirements within the GED Testing Service guidelines. That is, all candidates have to be at least 16 years old and not enrolled in a high school. Individuals who wish to take the test can see their own state's registration requirements for the GED exam by visiting the GED Testing Services website and navigating to the ''State Policies'' page (under the ''For the Educators'' section). The specific policies are available by clicking on a state's name.

Common Questions

Under the ''State Policies'' section, each state provides its policies on the most requested information. This information requested involves the following:

  • Residency requirements
  • Minimum and maximum testing fees
  • Minimum age for testing without exceptions
  • Minimum age for testing with additional documentation
  • Whether or not instruction is required before testing
  • Whether or not the Official GED Practice Test (GED Ready) is required
  • Whether or not test takers are required to wait before sitting for the exam or retaking portions
  • Length of the waiting period, if any
  • Title of the GED certificate awarded

Mandatory GED Requirements

Candidates must register for the test on the GED website, and they must take the test in person at an official testing center. The GED test cannot be taken online.

Language Requirements

The GED exam is available in English, Spanish and sometimes French, but not every state offers the test in all of those languages. Additionally, some states require those taking the test in a non-English language to take an additional ESL (English as a Second Language) test as well. Test takers should contact their local testing center to see if the test is administered in their language at a particular site.


Disabled persons are entitled to accommodations at testing sites. Such persons include those with physical disabilities; cognitive or learning disabilities; mental health disorders or emotional disabilities; and Attention-Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder. People with documented disabilities can start the process of requesting testing accommodations by answering ''yes'' to the testing modifications question when registering. Further instructions will follow via email.

Need help preparing for the GED? Check out's GED Test Prep study guides, complete with bite-size video lessons, practice tests, informational resources, and more to make sure you ace the exam!

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?