NYC GED Test Information and Requirements

Aug 03, 2018

As of early 2014, the State of New York no longer uses the GED exam for high school equivalency credentials, but instead uses the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC) test. Read on to learn the details and requirements for taking the TASC exam in New York City.

View Popular Schools

High School Equivalency in NYC

The TASC test is a 5-part test offered at testing centers throughout New York for those seeking to earn an equivalent high school diploma. There are many ways to prepare for TASC testing in New York City, including programs through the City University of New York (CUNY) system and the New York City Department of Education.

TASC Testing Requirements in New York City

Eligibility and Scoring

Most of New York State's requirements for the TASC also apply to New York City. For example, all applicants for the test must provide identification and proof that they have lived in New York for 30+ days prior to the test. Individuals 19 and older who have not yet earned a diploma and are not currently enrolled in high school can take the TASC exam without submitting additional eligibility proof. Students 17-18 can also register to take the TASC exam when certain conditions are met. New York City's requirements may differ slightly from the state's for 16-year-olds. Details on NYC's conditions can be found online on the New York State Education Department's website.

The five sections - reading, writing, mathematics, science and social studies - take nearly nine hours to complete when done all at once, but it is possible to take the different sections separately. A score of 500 in each section, plus a 2 out of 8 on the writing portion, is required to earn the diploma.

TASC Test Details

Individuals can download and fill out the application form and follow instructions to register for the test, which is administered at testing centers around the state; centers may offer the test on computer, on paper, or both. In New York, eligible applicants who provide the full documentation can take the TASC test at no charge.

Test-takers who don't pass all the sections can re-take individual sections. A Spanish version is offered for students who want to earn an equivalent diploma with a Spanish designation. Accommodations are also available for those with certain disabilities. Additionally, passing scores on sections of the GED taken between 2002-2013 can count toward the TASC test.

Preparing for the Exam

A county-by-county list of local classes and training options is available on the NYSED website, along with a link to free resources such as videos on demand, online lessons and Public Broadcasting System (PBS) programs. NYSED's Fast Forward site is a good starting point for exploring the study options.

Why Get Your TASC?

Once an individual has passed the TASC test, he or she can apply for college or reference it when applying for jobs. TASC also enables those who have passed the test to pursue financial aid for further education.

Need help preparing for the GED? Check out's GED Test Prep study guides, complete with bite-size video lessons, practice tests, informational resources, and more to make sure you ace the exam!

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?