Regionally Accredited Online Degree Programs

There are six regional accreditation agencies that accredit colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher education, many of which offer online degree programs. Additionally, accreditation specific to online schools is available. View article »

View 10 Popular Schools »

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

94% college-bound high school students
…said it was important to communicate with colleges during the search process. (Source: Noel-Levitz 2012 trend study)
  • 0:00 Regional Accreditation
  • 0:11 What is Regional…
  • 0:37 How to Determine Accreditation
  • 0:49 Six Accrediting Agencies
  • 2:07 Find Accreditation Information
  • 2:22 Non-Regional Accreditation

Find the perfect school

Video Transcript

Regionally Accreditation

What a prospective student is trying to decide between different schools, verifying the schools' accreditation is a good place to start.

What Is Regional Accreditation?

Accreditation means that the accrediting body has visited the school, reviewed coursework for quality standards and given the school a stamp of approval. Accreditation is a more rigorous process than recognition. Sometimes a school may be recognized, but not accredited. Employers may not accept a degree from a recognized school that is not accredited. Regional accreditation is only one type of accreditation that a school with online degree programs may hold.

How to Determine Accreditation

Students verifying regional accreditation for an online degree program can start by determining the state where the school of choice's main campus or headquarters is located.

Find schools that offer these popular programs

  • Agriculture
  • Architecture
  • Biological and Biomedical Sciences
  • Business
  • Communications and Journalism
  • Computer Sciences
  • Culinary Arts and Personal Services
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Legal
  • Liberal Arts and Humanities
  • Mechanic and Repair Technologies
  • Medical and Health Professions
  • Physical Sciences
  • Psychology
  • Transportation and Distribution
  • Visual and Performing Arts

Six Accrediting Agencies

There are six regional accreditation agencies. The six regional accreditation agencies each oversee a group of states, including the online programs offered through institutions in those states.

Accrediting Agency States Covered
The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington
The Western Association of Schools and Colleges California and Hawaii
The Southern Association of Schools and Colleges Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Alabama, Tennessee, Virginia, and Texas
The Middle States Commission on Higher Education New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, and Washington D.C.
The Higher Learning Commission Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming
The New England Association of Schools and Colleges Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont

Find Accreditation Information

It is simple to determine if an online program is accredited. Follow these easy steps:

1. Find the state where the college is physically located.

2. Determine the accrediting agency based on the state.

3. Check their website for the list of colleges they have accredited.

Non-Regional Accreditation

For students who may want to transfer to another college later on, there is something important to consider as you determine the accreditation of your school of choice. The Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC) also accredits schools with online programs. DEAC is a national organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation and the United States Department of Education. However, credits earned from a DEAC-accredited school are not guaranteed to transfer to any other college or university since each institution has its own transfer policy. It's the student's responsibility to determine if the college they plan on transferring to will accept transfer credits earned from a DEAC-accredited online degree program.

As you decide which college has the best program for you, remember to investigate if a school is regionally accredited because this will be important to future employers and to other schools you might want to attend later.

Next: View Schools

What is your highest level of education?

Some College
Complete your degree or find the graduate program that's right for you.
High School Diploma
Explore schools that offer bachelor and associate degrees.
Still in High School
Earn your diploma of GED. Plan your undergraduate education.

Schools you may like:

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?