System Administrator Certificate Programs with Course Information

Apr 25, 2020

Essential Information

Entry into a system administrator certificate program requires a high school diploma or GED. Individuals enrolled in a system administrator certificate program often take part in cooperative work as part of the curriculum as well as a major project to round out the course. Typically, students must maintain a 3.0 GPA or higher. System administrator certificate programs generally consist of 12-24 credits.

System Administrator Certificate Program

Students enrolled in a system administrator certificate program learn several applicable computer skills. Networking, system maintenance, programming language, and information systems security are all part of the coursework. Students can also learn to design, maintain, and secure specific operating systems, such as UNIX/Linux. Topics of study include the following:

  • Programming operating systems and system maintenance techniques
  • Shell, Java, Perl and C+ languages
  • System formulas and data modeling
  • Networking for system administrators
  • Securing networks and operating systems
  • Server administration for Microsoft Windows

Employment Outlook and Salary Information

Computer systems and network administrators are expected to experience a 5% climb in employment, for the years 2018 through 2028, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS, The BLS also indicates that, in 2019, the median annual salary for network and computer systems administrators was $83,510. Systems administrators can often find work in hospitals, schools, communications industries, and government agencies.

Professional Certification and Continuing Education Information

Individuals who have completed an academic certificate in system administration may want to continue their education through professional certification. The Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA) credential is common in the field of systems administration. In order to earn the certification, applicants must pass three required exams and one elective exam. Required exams cover client operating systems and networking. The elective exam can range from systems security to structured query language servers.

A systems administration certificate teaches students about managing and maintaining computer systems and networks, allowing them to find employment in a variety of fields due to the versatility of their learning. In order to increase their employability, many graduates will earn professional certification, as well.

Next: View Schools
Created with Sketch. Link to this page

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?